This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more on how we use cookies.

eGovernment benchmark

The "eGovernment Benchmark" of the European Commission has been examining digital administrative services in the 28 EU countries as well as in Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland and Turkey since 2001.

As a basis for comparison the indicators of the Digital Agenda for Europe are used. These are User centricity, Transparency, Cross-border mobility and technological key elements for online-services.

These four key indicators are examined annually on a rolling basis based on individual circumstances for citizens and companies that make interaction with public authorities necessary.

eGovernment-Benchmark 2020

In the "eGovernment Benchmark 2020" published by the European Commission, Austria ranks third out of 36 countries, on par with Latvia, and is one of the top 3 nations in Europe with Malta (1st place) and Estonia. Federal Computing Center (BRZ), owned by the Republic of Austria, as a competence center significantly involved in success. Several services, which are named as internationally important good practices in the Commission's report, were implemented in cooperation with the Federal Computing Center (BRZ).

Please find more information under E-Government-Benchmark (German site).

Previous eGovernment-Benchmark results

eGovernment-Benchmark 2019

In the European Commission's "eGovernment Benchmark 2019" published on 18.10.2019, Austria ranks third out of 36 countries surveyed, improving by three places and is one of the top 3 nations in Europe, with Malta (ranked 1st) and Estonia. Austria scored particularly well in the areas of availability and user-friendliness (e.g. through mobile use). Also worth mentioning is Austria's pioneering position in the field of so-called "key enabler" (key technologies) in the categories of electronic identification (eID), electronic documents (i.e. electronic transmission of documents from country A to country B) and the use of registers. In the electronic delivery subcategory, Austria scores the maximum score with the right to e-mail with authorities and, together with Denmark, Estonia and Lithuania, ranks first in Europe-wide comparison.

eGovernment-Benchmark 2018

In 2018 Austria achieved the sixth rank in the overall ranking of 34 countries examined. E-Government Services as FinanzOnline or Justiz 3.0 are Best Practices within Europe. The first five ranks are occupied by Malta, Denmark, Sweden, Estonia and Norway.


Digitalisation and e-Government: