This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more on how we use cookies.

Council of the European Union (Council)

The Council works together with the EP as legislator and is also called the "EU Council of Ministers". The seat is in Brussels. The Council meets in the presence of the Ministers of All Member States (or their representatives) and the EC.

The so-called "TTE Council" is the Council formation in which the ministers responsible for transport, telecommunications and energy (TTE) participate. Topics centred around eGovernment are mostly dealt with in this council formation. The Competitiveness Council (WBF) is also negotiating digitalisation and eGovernment dossiers. Other topics, such as cybersecurity, are dealt with in the General Affairs Council. Other Council configurations include the Justice and Home Affairs Council, the Foreign Affairs Council, the Economic and Financial Affairs Council, the Education, Youth, Culture and Sports Council etc.

Before voting on EC proposals in the above-mentioned Council formations, they go through a negotiation phase at the level of the Council working groups. Corresponding to the thematically coordinated Council formations, council working groups have been set up in correspondence with them. As a result, eGovernment topics are mostly dealt with in the Council working group "Telecommunications and Information Society", the Council Working Group "CompCro" (Competition and Growth) and the Council Working Group "Legal Informatics". The council working groups are supervised by the departmental staff of the responsible minister or specialist minister and/or also by employees of the Permanent Representation of Austria in the EU. The subject of eGovernment is managed by the Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs.

Additional Information

Institution which represents the member states is The Council of the European Union