This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more on how we use cookies.

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) in Austria 2021 to 2027

Under the EU's objective of promoting territorial development with the European Territorial Cooperation Programme (ETC, previously INTERREG), Austrian project partners may access seven cross-border and three transnational funding programmes as well as four EU-wide network and special programmes during the 2021 to 2027 funding period. Up to € 219.7 m have been made available by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) for these funding programmes. Cross-border funding programmes are intended to intensify (especially economic) cooperation of regions near both sides of a state border.

Cross-border ETC funding programmes with Austrian involvement

Transnational and EU-wide ETC funding programmes with Austrian involvement

The transnational and EU-wide cooperation, network and special ETC programmes are used for promoting the supraregional cooperation of national, regional and local project partners to achieve a higher territorial integration within Europe.

Macro-regional EU strategies for the Danube and Alpine regions

The macro-regional EU Strategy for the Danube Region (EUSDR) and for the Alpine Region (EUSALP) have been initiated by the European Union as a voluntary political framework process intended to provide opportunities for people living in these large regions to enhance cooperation in certain priority fields and offer better prospects for higher education, employment and prosperity.

  • EUSDR ( participants include nine EU Member States (DE, AT, CZ, SK, SI, HU, RO, BG and HR), three candidate countries (MN, RS, BA) and two third countries (UA and MD). The programme is currently chaired by Slovakia. 
  • EUSALP ( comprises 48 regions in five EU member States (AT, F, DE, IT, SI) and two third countries (CH, FL) with France currently chair-in-office.