This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more on how we use cookies.

European Parliament

The EP works together with the Council as legislator. The plenary sessions will be chaired by the President of Parliament (Antonio Tajani, Forza Italia). The term of office of the President of the Parliament and the other members of the Bureau (= 14 Vice-Presidents and five Quaestors) is two and a half years, i.e. half an EP legislative period. The Quaestors are entrusted with administrative and financial tasks directly related to the Members, in accordance with guidelines issued by the Bureau; see Art 29 of the GO.

The European Parliament decides in plenary sessions; its seat is in Strasbourg (further places of work: Brussels and Luxembourg).

Since 2014, the EP is made up of 751 MPs, with Britain currently holding 71 seats - whether they will be dropped or distributed after the BREXIT - is currently unknown. As with the EU Council of Ministers, dossiers are not passed directly to the plenary but are prepared in the different EP committees.

In the context of digitalisation and eGovernment, the ITRE Committee (Committee on Industry, Research and Energy), the LIBE Committee (Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs) and the IMCO Committee (Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection) are relevant.

Any citizen of the EU and any natural or legal person residing or having its registered office in a Member State may, on its own or together with other citizens, petition the EP on matters falling within the fields of activity of the Union directly affecting him or her.

The Council and the EP are being considered in the legislative process by the Committee of the Regions and the Economic and Social Committee. Both committees must be heard and give opinions.

Additional Information

European Parliament